Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
Distinguished Career Achievement Award

The Distinguished Career Achievement Award was established to recognize and celebrate the achievements of established scholars in cinema and media studies. Nominations for the SCMS Distinguished Career Achievement Award are invited from the membership each year.

Nominees are judged on the following criteria:

  • A record of distinguished contributions to the profession;
  • A significant body of scholarly work over time that has helped shape the field;
  • Active membership in SCMS for a number of years.


A completed nomination form containing the name of the nominee, his/her affiliation, mailing address, e-mail address and supporting comments about the nominee along with the contact name and e-mail address(es) for the person(s) who is nominating the individual for the award must be submitted online by August 1, 2014 (5pm CT).   The nomination statement should be under 1000 words.  

Past winners of the SCMS Distinguished Career Achievement Award
(Acceptance speeches from recent DCAA winners can be read and/or viewed here.)

Richard Abel
Dudley Andrew
Rudolf Arnheim
Iris Barry
Eileen Bowser
Pearl Bowser
Stan Brakhage
Kevin Brownlow
Noël Burch
Ernest Callenbach
Teresa de Lauretis
Richard Dyer
Jack C. Ellis
Thomas Elsaesser
William K. Everson
Frances Flaherty
Stuart Hall
Lewis Jacobs
E. Ann Kaplan
Arthur Knight
Jay Leyda
Christian Metz
Annette Michelson
Jean Mitry
Laura Mulvey
Erwin Panofsky
B. Ruby Rich
David Shepard
Vivian Sobchack 

Amos Vogel
Linda Williams
Peter Wollen
Robin Wood

Support this Award/Donate Now >

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 |