Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
Scholarly Interest Groups

Scholarly Interest Groups (SIGs) are groups comprised of SCMS members who share an interest in a particular medium, a genre, a methodology, the media of a particular nation or region, or any other subcategory within the rubric of cinema and media studies. SIGs are formed and maintained to provide fellowship and networking opportunities for their members, and to support scholarship, pedagogy, and mentoring in that particular area within SCMS.

For general information or information specific to organizing a new Scholarly Interest Group, SCMS members can reference the SCMS bylaws and policies relevant to SIGs or contact the SIG liaison Sean Griffin.

Information about the responsibilities of SIG Chairs and SIG Coordinating Committee Chairs can be found here (opens as a PDF). 


Scholarly Interest Coordinating Committee

Contacts: Norma Coates and Philippe Gauthier

 

CURRENT SCHOLARLY INTEREST GROUPS (Total 27)

Adult Film History
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page / Join Now >

Contact: Eric Schaefer


Animated Media
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Mihaela MihailovaKirsten Moana Thompson, and Eric Herhuth (Graduate Student Representative)
 

Central/East/South European Cinemas
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Bjorn IngvoldstadAga Skrodzka, and Lilla Toke


CinemArts

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts:  Stephen MonteiroSoyoung Yoon, and Dimitrios Latsis (Graduate Student Representative)


Cognitive/Analytic

SIG Homepage > I SIG Member's Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Carl Plantinga, and Malcolm Turvey


Comedy and Humor Studies

SIG Homepage > | SIG Member's Group Page/Join Now >

Contact: Phil Scepanski


Comics Studies

SIG Homepage > I SIG Member's Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Blair Davis bdavis47[at]depaul[dot]edu, and Ramzi Fawaz ramzi[at]gwmail.gwu[dot]edu, and Kathryn Frank katmf[at]umich[dot]edu


Contemporary Theory

SIG Homepage > I SIG Member's Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Scott Ferguson sferguson[at]usf[dot]edu and Scott Richmond scr[at]wayne[dot]edu


Documentary Studies
SIG Homepage > I SIG Member's Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Stephen Charbonneau scharbo1[at]fau[dot]edu, Angela Aguayo ajaguayo[at]siu[dot]edu, and Alina Predescu (Graduate Student Representative) alina.predescu[at]gmail[dot]com


Experimental Film and Media

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Erika Balsom erika.balsom@kcl.ac.uk, Tess Takahashi tess.takahashi@gmail.com


Film and Media Festivals

SIG Homepage > I SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Dorota Ostrowska  dostrowska@bbk.ac.uk and Tamara Falicov tfalicov@ku.edu  Michael Talbott mt1252@nyu.edu


French/Francophone

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Kelley Conway kelleyconway@wisc.edu and Richard Neupert neupert@uga.edu


Media and the Environment
SIG Homepage > I SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Hunter Vaughan Vaughan@Oakland.eduJanet Walker jwalker@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu, and Kiu-wai Chu kiuwaichu@gmail.com

 
Media Industries 

SIG Homepage > I SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Paul McDonald and Alisa Perren


Media Literacy and Pedagogical Outreach

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Leah Schafer SHAFER@hws.edu and Richard Jenseth rjenseth@stlawu.edu  Katy Morrisey (Graduate Student Representative), morriss9@uwm.edu


Nontheatrical Film and Media

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Martin Johnson Martin.Johnson@alumni.brown.edu


Oscar Micheaux Society

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Allyson Nadia Field afield@FT.UCLA.EDU and Ken Eisenstein kbe@uchicago.edu


Radio Studies

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Alexander Russo russoa@cua.edu and Cynthia Meyers cynmey@gmail.com


Scandinavian

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Laura Horak, laura.horak@gmail.com, Anders Marklund, anders.marklund@litt.lu.se, and Chris Baumann (Graduate Student Representative), chris.baumann@ims.su.se 


Silent Cinema
SIG Homepage > I SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Caitlin McGrath caitlinmcgrath02@gmail.com and Tami Williams tamifilm@gmail.com


Sound Studies

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts:
Tim Anderson loganpoppy@gmail.com and Norma Coates ncoates@uwo.ca


Television Studies

SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Melanie Kohnen mek8[at[nyu[dot]edu, Nick Marx Nick.Marx[at]colostate[dot]edu, Philippe Gauthier (Faculty Representative) philippe-2.gauthier[at]polymtl[dot]ca, and Laura LaPlaca (Graduate Student Representative) laura[at]lauralaplaca[dot]com


Transnational Cinemas
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Austin Fisher, Iain Robert Smithand Tim Jones 


Urban Studies
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Mark ShielErica Stein, and Josh Gleich (Graduate Student Representative) 


Video Game Studies
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Daniel ReynoldsFelan Parker, and Harrison Gish (Graduate Student Representative) 


War and Media Studies
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page / Join Now >

Contact: Stacy Takacs and Karen Randall


Women in Screen History
SIG Homepage > | SIG Members' Group Page/Join Now >

Contacts: Michele Leigh 


Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

 
Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 | office@cmstudies.org