This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Distinguished Career Achievement Award

Please note: Last year's Distinguished Career Achievement Award winner will roll over to 2021, the category is closed for submissions this year.


The Distinguished Career Achievement Award was established to recognize and celebrate the achievements of established scholars in cinema and media studies. Nominations for the SCMS Distinguished Career Achievement Award are invited from the membership each year.

Nominees are judged on the following criteria:

  • A record of distinguished contributions to the profession;
  • A significant body of scholarly work over time that has helped shape the field;
  • Active membership in SCMS for a number of years.


A completed nomination form containing the name of the nominee, his/her affiliation, mailing address, e-mail address and supporting comments about the nominee along with the contact name and e-mail address(es) for the person(s) who is nominating the individual for the award must be submitted online by July 30, 2020, 5:00PM CT. The nomination statement should be under 1000 words.  

Past winners of the SCMS Distinguished Career Achievement Award
(Acceptance speeches from recent DCAA winners can be read and/or viewed here.)

2020: Charles Musser
2019: Donald Crafton
2018:  Jane Gaines
2017:  Michele Hilmes
2016:  Rick Altman
2015:  Tom Gunning
2014:  Richard Abel
2013:  Linda Williams
2012:  Vivian Sobchack
2011:  Dudley Andrew
2010:  Teresa de Lauretis
2009:  E. Ann Kaplan
2008:  Thomas Elsaesser
2007:  Richard Dyer
2006:  B. Ruby Rich and Peter Wollen

Formerly Honorary Membership Award

2005:  Pearl Bowser and Stuart Hall
2004:  David Shepard
2003:  Noel Burch
2002:  Robin Wood
2001:  Laura Mulvey
2000:  Rudolf Arnheim
1999:  Kevin Brownlow
1998:  Jack C. Ellis
1997:  William K Everson

Iris Barry 
Eileen Bowser 
Stan Brakhage 
Ernest Callenbach 
William K. Everson 
Frances Flaherty 
Lewis Jacobs 
Arthur Knight 
Jay Leyda 
Christian Metz 
Annette Michelson 
Jean Mitry 
Erwin Panofsky 
Amos Vogel 

Support this Award/Donate Now >

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075