This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Share |


The Executive Council is the administrative and managerial body of the Society. It consists of the elected officers (President, President-elect, Secretary, and Treasurer), a Student Representative elected by student members, and six elected Executive Council members. The remaining ex-officio, non-voting members include the Past-President, the JCMS Editor, the Executive Director, the Administrative Coordinator, and the Conference and the Website Content managers.  The President serves a six-year term: two years as President-elect, two as President, followed by two years as Past-President. The President-elect is chosen in odd-numbered years. The Student Representative serves a two-year term. Two Executive Council members are elected each year. Elections are held annually in the spring, usually prior to the March conference. 

To be eligible for nomination to run for an office or for the Executive Council, individuals must be members of the Society in good standing. Members can nominate candidates to the Nominating Committee below. Nominations must be submitted no later than September 15 and should include the names of 25 regular members who support the nomination. The Nominating Committee develops and submits a list of candidates to the Board of Directors for approval in the fall prior to the annual meeting. After the Board's approval, the Secretary coordinates online posting of the candidates' statements and any other matters to be decided by the membership as well as notifies members of the voting procedures and deadlines.
Submit a nomination >

The 2020 Election runs from January 31, 2020 through February 28, 2020, and you must be signed in to your member account to access the ballots.

Voting for the 2020 SCMS election is now closed.

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075