This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.


Since 1971, SCMS has annually honored the year’s best in cinema and media studies scholarship, teaching, and professional service. Follow the links below to read more about each award, including its history, application or nomination procedures, and deadlines.

Note: This year, due to the pandemic and limited access to the home office, we are asking you to prioritize submitting e-books if at all possible. Thanks!

The deadline for award submissions has passed.  

Book or Project Awards            

Katherine Singer Kovács Book Award
Honoring the memory of USC professor Katherine Singer Kovács, this award is given to an outstanding book published in the field of cinema and media studies.   
Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award
Presented in memory of SCMS president-elect Anne Friedberg, this award recognizes innovative work that expands the discipline of cinema and media studies. 

Best First Book Award             
Recognizing the best first book by an author in the field of cinema and media studies.

Best Edited Collection Award          
Awarded to the year’s best anthology in cinema and media studies.  

Essay Awards            

Katherine Singer Kovács Essay Award          
Awarded to the best essay published in a journal.            

Best Essay in an Edited Collection Award   
Awarded to the best essay published in an anthology.  

Student Awards            

Student Writing Award
SCMS’s oldest honor, the Student Writing Award recognizes essays or writing by graduate students.              

Dissertation Award
The Society’s annual award for an outstanding dissertation in cinema and media studies.  

Teaching, Service, and Career Awards

Distinguished Career Achievement Award
For outstanding contributions to the field over the course of a career.              

Service Award            
For outstanding service to the Society.              

Innovative Pedagogy Award
For new methods, perspective and techniques in teaching.

Distinguished Pedagogy Award            
For outstanding pedagogical achievement in the field of cinema and media studies.  

Support these Awards/Donate Now >

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075