This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
2006 Awards
Share |


Twenty-Third Annual Dissertation Award
Jacob Smith
"Vocal Tracks:  Modern Vocal Performances in the Sound Media" (Indiana University, 2005).  

Honorable Mention
Jennifer Barker
"The Tactile Eye," (University of California, Los Angeles, 2004) 

Honorable Mention:
Vinicius Navarro
"Ordinary Acts:  Performance in Nonfiction Film, 1960-1967," (New York University, 2005). 

Kovacs Book Award
Nicholas Sammond
Babes in Tomorrowland:  Walt Disney and the Making of the American Child, 1930-1960 (Duke University Press, 2005).

Honorable mention:
Derek Kompare
Rerun Nation:  How Repeats Invented American Television (Routledge, 2005).

Kovacs Essay Award
Lucas Hilderbrand
"Grainy Days and Mondays:  Superstar and Bootleg Aesthetics" Camera Obscura, 57 (December 2004).

Student Writing Award
First Place
Candace Moore "Having it all Ways:  The Tourist, the Traveler, and the Local in The L Word"  
Second Place
Olga Solovieva
"A Murder's Portrayal in Fritz Lang's M:  Towards the Effect of Three-Dimensionality in the Classical Cinema"

Third Place
Eugenie Brinkema 
"Some Things, Once Seen, Cannot Be Unseen:  Torture(d) Television and the Limits of Ethical Spectatorship" 

Fourth Annual Service Award
Justin Wyatt 

Honorary Life Members
B. Ruby Rich and Peter Wollen 

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075