This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
2008 Awards

Twenty-Fifth Annual Dissertation Award 
Charles Tepperman
"Communicating a New Form of Knowledge: Tracing the Amateur Cinema League and its Films (1926-1954)” (University of Chicago, 2007).   

Honorable Mention:  Dissertation Award 
Devorah Heitner
"Black Power TV: A Cultural History of Black Public Affairs Television 1968-80” (Northwestern University, 2007).

Kovacs Book Award
Bambi Haggins
Laughing Mad: The Black Comic Persona in Post-soul America
(Rutgers University Press, 2007).

Honorable Mention:
Anne Friedberg
The Virtual Window: From Alberti to Microsoft (The MIT Press, 2006). 

Kovacs Essay Award
John MacKay
"Film Energy: Process and Metanarrative in Dziga Vertov’s The Eleventh Year (1928),” October 121 (2007). 

Honorable Mention:
Elena Gorfinkel
"Wet Dreams:  Erotic Film Festivals of the Early 1970s and the Utopian Sexual Public Sphere.”  Framework 47:2 (2006).  

Honorable Mention:
Charles Musser
"The Clash between Theater and Film:  Germaine Dulac, André Bazin and La Souriante Madame Beudet.”  New Review of Film and Television Studies 5:2 (2007).

Student Writing Award
First Place

 Nandana Bose
"Censor Board of India Correspondence (1992-2002): A Discursive Rhetoric of Moral Panic, ‘Public’ Protest and Political Pressure”

Second Place
Ellen Pullar
"’A New Woman’: The Promotional Persona of Anna Sten” 

Third Place
William Thomas McClain
"Film-Fiction: Fan Magazines, Narrative, and Spectatorship in the Transitional Film Era”

Sixth Annual Service Award
Lucy Fischer 

Honorary Lifetime Member
Thomas Elsaesser

Second Annual Pedagogy Award
 Diane Carson

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075