Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
2009 Awards


Twenty-Sixth Annual Dissertation Award
Caetlin Benson-Allott
"Imperio-Video:  Motion Pictures, Spectatorship, and the Politics of New Media" (Cornell University, 2008)

Honorable Mention
Abigail Salerno
"Seeing Blindness:  Cinema's Sensory Disabilities" (Duke University, 2008)

Kovacs Book Award
Victoria Johnson
Heartland TV (New York University Press, 2008) 

Kovacs Essay Award
D.N. Rodowick
"An Elegy for Theory" October, 122 (Fall 2007) 

Honorable Mention:
Guo-Juin Hong
"Framing Time:  New Women and the Cinematic Representation of Colonial Modernity 1930s Shanghai," Positions:  East Asia Culture Critiques, 15:3, Winter 2007 

Student Writing Award, 1st Place
Eric Hoyt, University of Southern California
"Desny v. Wilder:  The 'Fantastic, Unusual' Case of Ace in the Hole" 

Student Writing Award, 2nd Place [tie]
Michael Talbott, New York University "A Global Language for World Cinema:  The Twin Aesthetics of North-South Coproduction"  and Colleen Glenn, University of Kentucky "The Traumatized Veteran:  Jimmy Stewart's Post-WWII Roles"

Seventh Annual Service Award
James Castonguay 

Third Annual Pedagogy Award
Barry Keith Grant

Distinguished Career Achievement Award
E. Ann Kaplan
Sign In

Latest News

Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 |