Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
2010 Awards
Share |

2010 Award Winners

Dissertation Award
Stephanie Ricker Schulte, University of Arkansas
"State Technology to State of Being: The Making of the Internet in Global Popular Culture"

The Katherine Singer Kovács Book Award
Nancy Condee, University of Pittsburgh
The Imperial Trace: Recent Russian Cinema
(Oxford University Press), 2009

Honorable Mention

Kristen Whissel, University of California, Berkeley
Picturing American Modernity: Traffic, Technology, and the Silent Cinema
(Duke University Press), 2008

Honorable Mention
Lucas Hilderbrand, University of California, Irvine
Inherent Vice: Bootleg Histories of Videotape and Copyright
(Duke University Press,) 2009

The Katherine Singer Kovács Essay Award
Charles Acland, Concordia University
"Curtains, Carts and the Mobile Screen”
Screen, 50.1, Spring 2009, pp. 148-166

Student Writing Awards

1st Place: Paul Flaig, Cornell University
"Lacan's Harpo”

2nd Place: Casey Riffel, University of Southern California
"Dissecting Bambi: Multiplanar Photography, the Cel Technique, and the Flowering of Full Animation”

3rd Place: Jennifer Porst, University of California, Los Angeles
"The 16mm Case: Hollywood's Feature Films and Early Television”

Service Award Winners
Jane Dye, SCMS/University of Oklahoma
Leslie LeMond, SCMS
Debbie Rush, SCMS/University of Oklahoma

Distinguished Career Achievement Award
Teresa de Lauretis, University of California, Santa Cruz (Emerita)

Pedagogy Award
No Pedagogy Award given this year.

Sign In

Latest News

Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 |