This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Innovative Pedagogy Award

The deadline for award submissions has passed.

The Innovative Pedagogy Award is designed to recognize new methods, perspective and techniques in the teaching of Cinema, Radio, Television and Emerging Media Studies. Because there are myriad forms of innovative processes, we would encourage all those doing work that extends and expands teaching within our field to apply for this award at all institutions and all career levels. These can include repeated student-centered practices within a particular class (i.e. developing videographic essays or performance, production and theory-based coursework in studies courses), or programs designed to interrogate how industrial and institutional practices impact issues including access, bias, representation or technological innovation.


We welcome self-nominations as well as nominations by colleagues and/or student members of SCMS. The initial process requires a letter of nomination/self-nomination introducing the nominee and explaining how their particular practice exemplifies innovation in the teaching of Cinema, RadioTelevision and/or Emerging Media or in the training and/or the professional development of those who teach within the field (3-pages).


At the next level, the nominated individual will be asked to produce a short dossier (7 pages): including:

1. a short biography,

2. a self-statement about the inspirations and objectives for this practice and/or programming (2-pages);

3. evidence and illustrations of the practice including materials that guided the process, examples of the work produced and/or visual evidence of the product (video, webpage, pictures) (3 pages maximum) and

4. two letters from a colleague and a student (who have had firsthand experience with the practice/process or programming). (1-page maximum for each letter/ 2-page total).


This award was awarded for the first time at SCMS 2020 to Christian Keathley and Jason Mittell.

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075