This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Distinguished Pedagogy Award

Submissions open July 1, 2020, and the deadline for submissions is July 30, 2020, 5:00PM CT. 

Please click here to access the submission portal. 


SCMS confers an annual Pedagogy Award for outstanding pedagogical achievement in Cinema and Media Studies.  The Pedagogy Award Committee adjudicates nominations according to criteria of pedagogical achievement in some or all of the following areas: Instruction; Publication and Development of Educational Materials; Service/Value in Cinema and Media Studies Pedagogy. SCMS will present a trophy and a check for $500 to the winner at the annual conference.  

For award criteria, click here, and then access the nomination form.

General Instructions and Timeline

Nominees and nominators must be full members of the Society for the 2020-2021 membership year. Supporting letters may come from non-members. Nominees may be from teaching colleges, R1 universities, Community College, or other higher education institutions. They may be full-time, part-time, contingent, or recently retired faculty members. Nominations may cover lifetime teaching achievements or focus on achievements or innovations during a specific time period. Members of SCMS may self-nominate for this award.

  • Nominators or nominees complete the online nomination form by July 30, 2020, 5:00PM CT.
  • The SCMS office notifies nominees by August 17, 2020. In the case of persons nominated by others, nominees must accept or decline the nomination by September 7, 2020.
  • If the nomination is accepted, the nominator and nominee are responsible for compiling and sending an electronic copy of the dossier to the SCMS Office at by November 4, 2020, (5:00PM CT) with the subject line PEDAGOGY DOSSIER.
  • Watch a webinar about the Distinguished Pedagogy Award. The webinar, held in 2018 as a Facebook live event with Board member Miranda Banks and SCMS Board treasurer Bambi Haggins, discusses process and expectations for a successful dossier.

Dossier Guidelines

Table of Contents (1 page 12 point Times):

  1. Curriculum vitae: maximum five pages. May include some but not necessarily all of the following: educational background; teaching positions held; courses taught (including optional brief descriptions); awards, grants; publications; service. All material listed in the C.V., should be related to pedagogy. An example of a successful dossier is available upon request to
  2. Nominee's statement: maximum 750 words (3 pages 12pt Times). Statement should answer the questions: How do I teach? Why do I teach?
  3. Nomination summary statement (by nominator or by nominee if self-nominated): maximum 1250 words (5 pages 12pt Times). Summarizes the nominee’s accomplishments and provides overview of supporting documents.

Supporting documents may include all or some of the following:

  • letters from students and colleagues
  • evidence of classroom, curricular, or syllabus innovation;
  • exposure of graduate students to research opportunities;
  • mentorship and advising of students;
  • writing or editing of publications on pedagogy or that assist with an understanding of the links between media and pedagogy;
  • evidence of media literacies;
  • working towards inclusiveness in the classroom and on campus. 

Completed dossiers with supporting documents should be no more than 35 pages.  

Past winners of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies Pedagogy Award:

2020 Allison Whitney
2019 Charlie Keil
2018 John T. Caldwell
2017 Ellen Seiter
2016 Eylem Atakav
2015 Matthew Bernstein
2014 Timothy Corrigan
2013 Constance Balides
2012 Marsha Cassidy
2011 Charles Wolfe
2010 No Award Given
2009 Barry Grant
2008 Diane Carson
2007 Chuck Kleinhans


Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075