This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site-wide Search
Distinguished Service Award

Since 2003 the SCMS Service Award has honored individuals who have demonstrated sustained commitment to the Society.  The Board of Directors nominates and selects the winner.  The Board is not required to select a winner every year, but only when a worthy candidate emerges. Board nominations are made prior to the Fall Board of Directors’ meeting to allow Board members time to consider the nominees carefully.  The nominee should not be a current member of the Board.  Board members must prepare a nomination statement describing the nominee’s service to SCMS (not scholarly achievements) and why s/he deserves the award.   

Previous winners of the SCMS Service Award:

2018: Chris Holmlund
2017:  Haidee Wasson
2016:  Andy Horton
2015:  Jane Dye
2014:  Patrice Petro
2013: Heather Hendershot
2012:  Eric Schaefer
2011:  Peter Decherney
2010:  Jane Dye, Debbie Rush and Leslie LeMond
2009:  James Castonguay
2008:  Lucy Fischer
2007:  Jeremy Butler
2006:  Justin Wyatt
2005:  Vivian Sobchack
2004:  Janice R. Welsch
2003:  Virginia Wexman

Support this Award/Donate Now >

Sign In

Latest News

Society for Cinema and Media Studies | 640 Parrington Oval | Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300 | Norman, OK 73019 | 405-325-8075 |