This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Board of Directors


Miranda Banks (17-20)
Biography: Miranda Banks is an Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and a Faculty Director of the Engagement Lab at Emerson College. Read more >


Gilberto M. Blasini (19-21)
Biography: Gilberto M. Blasini is an Associate Professor in English and Film Studies, Director of Film Studies, and Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies in English at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (UWM). Read more >


Cara Dickason (19-21)
Graduate Student Representative
Biography: Cara Dickason is a third-year Ph.D. candidate in Screen Cultures and a Mellon Interdisciplinary Cluster Fellow in Gender and Sexuality Studies at Northwestern University. Read more >



Rebecca Gordon (19-22)
Precarious Labor Organization Representative
Rebecca M. Gordon (Ph.D. Indiana University) is a lecturer in English and Cinema Studies at Northern Arizona University, where she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in world cinema, literature and film, film & literary theory, and multicultural US literature. Read more >


Michael Curtin (17-20)
Biography: Michael Curtin is the Duncan and Suzanne Mellichamp Professor in the Department of Film and Media Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is also director of the 21st Century Global Dynamics Initiative and executive editor of global-e. Read more >


Elizabeth Evans (18-21)
Biography: Elizabeth Evans is Associate Professor of Film and Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. Read more >



Racquel Gates (19-22)
Biography: Racquel Gates is an Assistant Professor of Cinema and Media Studies at the College of Staten Island, CUNY. Read more >



Ex Officio (Non-Voting) Members:

Caetlin Benson-Allot
Biography: Caetlin Benson-Allott is Associate Professor of English and Film and Media Studies at Georgetown University. Read more >

Joshua Nelson
Home Office Representative
Biography: Joshua Nelson was recently named Interim Director of Film and Media Studies Program at the University of Oklahoma.  He is an Associate Professor of English and affiliated faculty with Native American Studies. Read more >


Leslie LeMond
Director of Conferences and Events
Read more >



Organizational History | Staff | Officers | Board of Directors | Governance | Support SCMS | Contact Us

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075