This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Dissertation Award Committee
Share |

The Dissertation Award Committee evaluates and selects the winner of the annual Dissertation Award. In appointing members to this committee, the President should be sensitive to potential conflicts of interest, with particular attention to schools that have had high levels of submissions. Considering factors such as the number and length of submissions and the disposition of the committee, the evaluation procedure is agreed on after the chair consults with all committee members. Normally all committee members read, rank and prepare brief comments on all of the submissions.  If a large number of submissions prevent members from reading each one, the evaluation procedures can be modified with committee members reading the abstract and portions of a dissertation to determine whether it merits further consideration. Dissertations chosen for the short list must be read in their entirety. Award applicants must be SCMS members.

Gilberto Blasini, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Liaison on the Board of Directors)

2019-2020 Members:

Carly Kocurek, Illinois Institute of Technology

Peter Alilunas, University of Oregon
Jonathan Cohn, University of Alberta

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075