This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Best First Book Award Committee
Share |

The Best First Book Award Committee acknowledges the best first book in film and media studies published by a single author. Books must be single-authored , written in or translated into Englished and published between August 1, 2009 and July 30, 2010. Republished volumes, edited collections , and multi-authored books are not eligible. The committee should select the winner by February 1. The SCMS office will officially notify the winner and all entrants. The committee chair will present the award to the winner at the annual conference.

Racquel Gates, College of Staten Island, CUNY (Liaison on the Board of Directors) 

2019-2020 Members


Jeff Scheible, King’s College London


Karen Ritzenhoff, Central Connecticut State University 
Keith Corson, University of Central Arkansas

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075