This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Student Writing Award Committee
Share |

The Student Writing Award Committee evaluates submissions and selects the first, second, and third place winners of the competition.  Since publication in Cinema Journal is part of the 1st Place prize, please note that the committee chair must notify the editor of the Cinema Journal "Professional Notes” section two months prior to the May 15 publication date of the spring issue of the Journal.

In their January report to SCMS, the committee can also provide the Board (through the Liaison) with at least one paragraph of comments on the three top-ranked papers. The committee can indicate to the Board that these comments may be shared with the authors, but any mention of possible revision included in the committee's comments must be listed as "notes for consideration," and that such notes have no official bearing on the judgments of the editor of Cinema Journal, who may make further (or other) requests for revision.

Applicants must be SCMS members.

Rebecca Gordon, Northern Arizona University (Liaison on the Board of Directors) 

2019-2020 Members:

Kim Hester-Williams, Sonora State University

Melissa Molloy, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Swapnil Rai, Wesleyan University


Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075