This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.

SCMS Committees are suggested by the President and approved by the Board of Directors. The President assigns Board members to serve as liaisons to the committees. SCMS has several committee types: permanent standing committees whose members serve three-year, overlapping terms and annual and award selection committees whose make-up changes each year. Chairs of annual committees only serve one-year, but for the sake of continuity, members of the annual committees may be asked to serve more than one year. New chairs are often selected from returning annual committee members, and outgoing chairs are encouraged to recommend new committee members. Most committees have six members, but may have more or less as needed. Committee chairs prepare annual reports on committee activities and submit them to the President and the Board of Directors. Committee assignments should represent the wide variety of areas of study and scholarly methodologies within the discipline and promote gender, cultural, institutional, and geographical diversity. SCMS members are encouraged to suggest names to the President for consideration to serve on committees, including one’s own.

Standing Committees
Caucus Coordinating Committee
Environmental and E-Waste Committee
Fair Use Committee
Fieldnotes Committee
Information Technology Committee
Investment Committee
Media Archives Committee
Nominating Committee
Professional Development Committee
Public Policy Committee
SIG Coordinating Committee
Teaching Committee
Translation/Publication Committee

Annual Committees
Conference Program Committee
Conference Host Committee

Award Committees
Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award Committee
Best Edited Collection/Best Essay in an Edited Collection Award Committees
Best First Book Award Committee
Dissertation Award Committee
Distinguished Career Achievement Award Committee
Innovative Pedagogy Award Committee
Katherine Singer Kovács Book and Essay Awards Committees
Distinguished Pedagogy Award Committee
SCMS Student Writing Award Committee


Organizational History | Staff | Officers | Board of Directors | Governance | Support SCMS | Contact Us

Contact Us

Society for Cinema and Media Studies
640 Parrington Oval
Wallace Old Science Hall, Room 300
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-8075